Speaker’s Training

I just finished a two day course in speakership training. And what can I say? Well… actually… hmmm… basically…. ahhhmmmm…. 😀
 
It was great. But let me get the formal stuff out of the way first.
 
The training was conducted by peopleignite and sponsored by Microsoft’s Asia Pacific IT Pro Lead Maria Green. It was intended to develop the core speaking skills of msdn and technet presentors for MS-Philippines. Held at the Manila office of Microsoft on April 26th and May 24th.
 
Honestly speaking, I was hesitant at first to join. Being a former member of the academe as a professor for over five years (and handling public speaking subjects), I of course gave time to think that this could be a waste of resources. I mean, I cuold have easily given my seat to someone else who needed this. But still, with the concept of my cup spilling, I went through with it and I must say, that it was an eye opening experience to say the least.
 
The Cast:
People Ignite – these are people who speak, professionally, I mean, as a living. They train people in speaking for and about anything. What I liked about them primarily was there slogan "fusing art and science". I really liked this because it coincides with what I believe in. That there is art in everything, including science and math.
 
The People from PeopleIgnite – Seldom do I see people with such passion at what they do. These people are the best at what they do and I really ocnsider it an honor to have met them and learned from them.
 
The attendees – IT Professionals, Developers, students, speakers, heroes.  The people there attended with two things in common. First, they are all speakers for Microsoft technologies. And second, they all speak for free, out of passion for the technology. Nothing beats that! From students in their junior year, to industry experts and leaders the attendees were a mixed menagerie of personalities and attitudes. Some were quiet, MOST were outspoken, all are heroes and all had fun!
 
The Course – The course was divided into two parts, day one and day two. LoL! It was a single course for me. One that opened up our eyes to our hidden potential as industry speakers and leaders. The course gave us the concept and ability to present what we want to present, in a manner that would be acceptable, digestable and believable. The task we are here to do is no laughing matter; to present probably THE most boring subject on the planet… computers. 🙂
But after the course, we are all now confident that the next time we take center stage and represent a Billion Dollar company, we will make a difference and we will make sure that we will impart to our audience what they need to learn both technically and emotionally.
 
The outcome – I came home with my cup filled once again, and I can’t wait to try it out!
 
 
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speaker’s Training

  1. Jasper says:

    wag lang may umattend na manghuhuli ng bridging mo :)

Leave a Reply

